When ordinary people do extraordinary things, the Police Officers Association of Michigan honors them in a special way.

POAM Annual Convention 2019

Police Officer of the Year Awards

We are proud to announce the 2019 POAM Police Officers of the Year. These carefully selected individuals have exhibited bravery and selflessness in the field and have gone above and beyond the call of duty to serve and protect. To learn more about these officers, visit their personalized posts with images and their heroic stories.

Deputies Tyler Harju, Angela Miles, Hans Tolkkinen, Houghton County, and Sergeant Brad Pelli, Keweenaw County

Officers Joe Wojcik and Jason Zuk, Shelby Township Police Department

Sergeant Aaron Miller, and Deputies Ryan Weakman, Steven Sentz, and Sean Gerbe, Clare County DSA

Officer Christopher Smith, Port Huron COA

Officer Andrew Lane, Troy Police Department

Officer Ryan Alexander, Dearborn Police Department

Officer Joseph Stephens, Dearborn Heights POA

Officer Cory Johnson, Iron Mountain Police Department

Officer Chris Drury, Alma POA

Officers Justin Goebel, Jason Hansen, Scott Phelps, and Dennis Washburn, Shelby Township Police Department

2019 Distinguished Service Award

Dispatcher Shae Hughes, Dearborn Dispatchers Association

Cpl. John Niesluchowski and Cpl. Kevin Thompson, Dearborn POA

Ryan Baessler and Jacob Cote, Farmington City PSOA

Richard Lafreniere and David Wright, St. Clair County DSA

Photo Gallery

Missed the POAM Annual Convention 2019?

Watch the Awards Ceremony live stream playback to hear the amazing stories and hear the recipients’ speeches.

To recap the 2019 POAM Annual Convention, view this page to read all articles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *