Every year, the Police Officers Association gives out several awards during its Annual Convention. Below you will find a list of all the award-winners, as well as the audio of the award presentations. Thank you to all our brothers and sisters in blue who help protect Michigan’s citizens.

Distinguished Service Awards

Koval FoxPlymouth Police Officers Thomas Koval, Alexander Fox and Plymouth Township Office Michael Fritz

At 2:30 a.m. on February 10, 2011, these three officers fought through a blazing fire in a Plymouth apartment building to save dozens of lives that would’ve been lost in the fire. Ahead of the Fire Department, the officers awoke and rescued residents, all without protective firefighting equipment.

Read the officers’ story here.


Clayton ThomasMontcalm County Sheriff’s Deputy Clayton Thomas

On June 1, 2011, Deputy Thomas received a call to check on a Gulf War veteran. The man was suicidal and after firing on other officers, Deputy Thomas took the man down saving the lives of the other officers.

Read Deputy Clayton Thomas’ story here.


POAM Officer of the Year Awards

Joseph BallardWashtenaw County Sheriff’s Deputy Joseph Ballard

At 8 p.m. on August 2, 2011, Deputy Ballard spotted a man waving for help ont he side of the road near the Huron River. After parking his car, he heard screaming and bravely fought through rough water to pull a drowning man out of the water to safety.


Garden City Police Officer Ronald Kozloff

On April 2, 2010, Officer Kozloff placed his own life in jeopardy to stop a man after it was reported that he had a gun. The suspect led Office Kozloff on a seven-mile chase and took his own life after a exchanging shots with the Officer.

Read Officer Ronald Kozloff’s story here.


Officer Cameron Sleep and Sergeant Norman BrooksWestland Police Officers Robert Fruit and Cameron Sleep Westland Police Sergeant Norman Brooks

These three officers saved a paralyzed, elderly woman from a house fire in Westland. They bravely risked their lives to rescue a helpless person who would not be alive today if not for them.

Read the officers’ story here.


Bruce Shippe, Charles BrooksGarden City Police Sergeant Charlie Brooks and Garden City Police Officers Ronald Kozloff and Bruce Shippe

On December 7, 2011, these three brave officers helped prevent a woman from being harmed by her ex-boyfriend who came to her house uninvited to confront her about her new boyfriend. The officers blocked the man’s vehicle in her driveway and killed him after he attempted to shoot one of the officers.

Read the officers’ story here.


Larry NehasilLivonia Police Officer Larry Nehasil (posthumous)

Officer Nehasil died in the line of fire on January 17, 2011. The officer was shot by a man who was fleeing police after a robbery. Officer Nehasil is remembered as being “always about the team” and always the first officer on the scene.

Read Officer Larry Nehasil’s story here.


Trevor SlotOttawa County Sheriff’s Deputies Shawn James, Richard Sykes, Meri-Beth Brouwer, Travis Babcock and Tyler Kempema, Muskegon County Sheriff’s Deputy Shane Brown,  Michigan State Police Troopers Joe Young, Chris Bush, and Dave Cardinas, and Walker Police Officer Trevor Slot (posthumous) and Ottawa County Sheriff’s Deputy Kevin Allman (Distinguished Service Award)

Officer Slot was killed on October 13, 2011 while bravely trying to stop two bank robbers fleeing the other officers on westbound I-96. He was hit by the suspects’ vehicle at 108 mph as he attempted to lay down road spikes. The other officers involved shot and killed both suspects, ending the 34-minute long chase.

Read Trevor Slot’s story here.


Administrator of the Year Award

Monroe DirectorMonroe Director of Public Safety Thomas Moore

Director Moore helped double the size of the Monroe Fire Academy by convincing police officers to join the Fire Academy. Now every police officer is also prepared to fight fires.


Jurist of the Year Award

Steven Servaas

Kent County District Court Judge Steven Servaas


Judge Servaas has been on the bench for more than 40 years and has worked heavily with law enforcement agencies throughout Michigan.


Loyalty Award

Erik SandersOak Park Police Officers Association President Erik Sanders

President Sanders was charged with the task of figuring out how to continue to fight crime in Oak Park with fewer resources than ever before. It’s a job that no one wants, but one that has to be done and President Sanders has continued to fight for officers’ rights.


Legislator of the Year Awards

State Senator Rebekah WarrenState Senator Rebekah Warren (D-18th District) and State Representative Tim Bledsoe (D-1st District)

State Sen. Warren and State Rep. Bledsoe have worked very closely with POAM and continue to fight for our members’ rights in the legislative arena.


Administrator of the Year Award

Clare County Sheriff John Wilson

Clare County Sheriff John Wilson

Due to unforeseen circumstances, Sheriff Wilson was not able to attend the POAM Annual Convention, but won this award for his many accomplishments as Clare County Sheriff.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *